Do I do that?

Inspired by People

Some pearls anyone?

WISDOM, the project by Andrew Zuckerman, offers the greatest gift one generation can give to another or as the Oxford Dictionary puts it “the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgement”.

Here is a glimpse into some of the pearls that Zuckerman captured:

“Be here. Be present. Wherever you are, be there.” Willie Nelson

“Risk it, go for it. Life always gives you another chance, another go at it. It’s very important to take enormous risks.” Mary Quant

“When I grew up, I learned you must respect the elders. You were supposed to understand that you are young, and the elders were supposed to give you the relevant rules and regulations.” Esther Mahlangu

“Damned if you know what makes a marriage work.I have been married for forty years, and it’s not one marriage:by then you’ve had four or five totally different marriages.” Chuck Close

“Simplicity is a sign of maturity. It takes time to get simpler.” Helmut Jahn

“I’m not going to say, I will not use the English language. I have no fight with any language. I will use whatever is useful to me.” Chinua Achebe

“Only history is going to show what really mattered here.” Clint Eastwood

“Believe in yourself and believe in love. Love something. We’ve got to learn to love something deeply.” Andrew Wyeth 

“Find what you should be doing and do it.” Billy Connolly

“Be yourself. Ultimately, just be yourself.” Wole Soyinka

“There is a figure called Madeleine Albright and then there’s me. And Madeleine Albright is somebody that I think has done a lot for breaking the glass ceiling. But my kids and my grandchildren react to me.” Madeleine Albright

“I feel that I’m constantly learning, in every single thing I’ve ever done.” Judi Dench

“It is what we make out of what we have, not what we are given, that separates one person from another.” Nelson Mandela

One comment on “Some pearls anyone?

  1. Pearls
    December 17, 2012

    When I grew up, I learned you must respect the elders. You were supposed to understand that you are young, and the elders were supposed to give you the relevant rules and regulations

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2012 by in Heros, Wisdom.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

